Society Awards

Elgar Society awards are made at the discretion of the Society’s council and executive committees

President and Vice-Presidents

Nominations for the Society President and Vice-Presidents must be submitted to the Council for approval prior to being referred to an Annual General Meeting.

Click to view

Sir Mark Elder

Diana McVeagh
Dame Janet Baker CH DBE
Leonard Slatkin
Sir Andrew Davis CBE
Dr Christopher Robinson CVO CBE
Andrew Neill
Martyn Brabbins
Tasmin Little OBE
Julian Lloyd Webber

The Elgar Society Medal

The Society’s medal is the highest honour awarded by the Society. It is awarded to those who have demonstrated continued commitment to the promotion of the life and works of Edward Elgar or the aims and objectives of The Elgar Society. 

Click to view

1992 Dr Jerrold Northrop Moore
1992 Leonard Slatkin
1999 Jerzy Maksymiuk
2000 Tadaaki Otaka
2007 Andrew Litton
2008 Sakari Oramo
2009 Danube Symphony Orchestra
2009 Vladimir Ashkenazy
2011 Michael Kennedy
2011 Anthony Payne
2012 Barry Collett
2012 Jacek Kaspszyk
2012 Sir Colin Davis
2013 Sir Andrew Davis
2013 Sir Mark Elder
2015 Daniel Barenboim
2015 Diana McVeagh
2016 Martin Bird
2017 Teresa Cahill
2017 Alexander Walker
2019 Anastasia Vedyakova
2020 Adrian Brown
2021 Dame Janet baker

The Elgar Society Certificate of Merit

The Certificate of Merit recognises commitment to the promotion of the life and works of Edward Elgar or the aims and objectives of The Elgar Society. The award is available to those who have made a long term contribution, but may also be used to encourage younger performers etc. whose contribution has been over a shorter period.

Click to view

2010 Nicolaj Znaider
2011 Julian Christophe Toelle and the Hans-Sachs-Chor
2011 Jon Goldswain
2011 George Parris
2012 Anastassia Vediakova
2012 Mikhail Mishchenko
2013 Pat Hurst
2014 Margot Pearmund
2014 Dominic Guyver
2014 Ernie Kay
2015 Meinhard Saremba
2015 Wolfgang Rittmeier
2015 Philomusica of Gloucestershire and Worcestershire
2017 Geoff Scargill
2017 Chris Bennett
2017 Richard Smith
2019 David Young

Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership may be granted to any person, whether or not already a member of the Society, in recognition of their exceptional contribution to the work of the Society.  The President and Vice-Presidents of the Society automatically become honorary members and are not included in this list.

Click to view

Mr Richard Abram
Mr Chris Bennett
Mr C Bishop
Mr David Bury
Mr Relf Clark
Mr Trevor Fenemore-Jones
Mr Christopher Fifield
Mr Michael Green
Mr John Greig
Mr John G Knowles
Mr Ian Lace
Mr David G Michell
Mr Kevin D Mitchell
Mr David P Morris
Mr Martin Passande
Mrs Gillian Pope
Mr Michael W Trott
Mrs Wendy Hill
Mr Andrew Keener
Mr Martyn Marsh
Mr John Norris
Revd. M D Vockins
Mr Lani Spahr
Mrs Ruth Hellen

The Elgar Medal

The Elgar Medal